Rejected Again

13May09

Everybody has heard it before, but I’ll say it again: Right now the job market stinks!  I finally had another interview yesterday (I don’t want to look at exactly how long, but it has been too long).  It was with a company I have admired for years.  The interview was the longest I have ever had–almost two hours.  It was by no means tedious.  We had a really good conversation.  It didn’t meander off the general topic of the job I was applying for and I was getting a really good feeling.  I felt like I would get along with this person and would really enjoy working for her.  I was more excited about this position as I have been about any other during this job search.  This afternoon the phone rings and it’s from this company.  I get a thrill expecting that I’m getting a call to set up a final interview.  At the other end of the phone is my interviewer telling me that her boss had a really great interview with another candidate and made them an offer.  The position has been filled.  It’s amazing how big a swing your emotions can take in the span of about 30 seconds.

I definitely appreciate her taking the time to give me a call and let me know they went with someone else.  I think I’ve only gotten that from two other companies I’ve applied to and those were both generic e-mails almost sound like a break-up letter (“It’s not you, it’s me.  I just don’t think we’re right for each other”).  I think it says something that this person took the time and effort to contact me personally and directly to let me know what was happening.  Of course that just convinces me even more that I want to work for this company.  Oh well, one more person to add to my contact list in case another opening shows up.

It’s hard not having a job after being constantly employed for over two decades.  At least I now have time to do some of those little project around the house that just never get done.  Ah, who am I kidding?  Being unemployed stinks!

No Responses Yet to “Rejected Again”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

