Thanksgiving

27Nov09

Here I sit near the end of one of the worst Thanksgivings of my life.  I’ll admit up front that I’m whining a bit, and I realize there are lots of people out there that have had crappier holidays than I will ever have.  But for me this one still sucks.  This is the first Thanksgiving of my life that I will spend almost no time with any of my family.   My day was occupied by the fact that I had to work today.  I am a restaurant manager and unfortunately for me, working most holidays is just something you have to deal with.  But this year I worked 9am to 7pm so it was pretty much hopeless for me to be included this year.  But rather than dwell on this holiday’s shortcomings, I will focus on the things I have to be thankful for.

I am thankful for my wonderful wife of almost 20 years.  She is the perfect partner.  We share many common interests, but complement each other in terms of personality.  We have traits that fill in each other’s holes.  She helps me remember to be an adult and get things done.

I am thankful for my too-smart-for-my-own-good son, now a freshman in college.  He helps me remember how to be a kid and have fun.

I am thankful for my family and friends who I can turn to in times of need, get advice from, learn from or just have borderline pointless conversations with.

I am thankful for the roof over my head and a warm bed to sleep in.

I am thankful for the ability to put food on the table.

I am thankful for my job (which helps with the last two items).

I am thankful for my health.

I am thankful to live in a place where I have many choices of what to do, what to be, what to think.  I am thankful I can express them (or not) in any way I choose.

I am thankful.

One Response to “Thanksgiving”

  1. 1 Cheryll Armstrong-Kaukis

    thoughtful insight and a reminder of so much to be thankful for
    love Cheryll


Leave a Reply

