Food I Like: Rosemary Chicken with Honey-Pear Sauce

03Dec09

This is a recipe I threw together from some random things around the kitchen.  It was time to cook dinner and I desperately needed to make something different than usual.  My wife had gotten The Flavor Bible by Karen Page and Andrew Dornenburg on loan from the library and I picked it up.  The bulk of the book is lists of “flavor affinities” suggested to them by a host of professional chefs.  This book is absolutely perfect for my style of cooking.  I was half inclined that night to make a Hawaiian-style chicken (honey glazed chicken breast with pineapple) but I didn’t have any pineapple.  So I picked up the book and flipped open to the list for honey—“Hmmm, pears.  I’ve got some pears in the fridge.”  On to the list for pears and we find rosemary.  I know rosemary goes well with chicken, so now I suddenly have this loop back around to chicken.  And I’m off and running.

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup butter
  • 1 red onion (about 5 inch diameter) diced
  • 1 Tablespoon rosemary
  • 1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 3 Tablespoons honey
  • 1 cup pear juice
  • 2 teaspoons arrowroot

Melt butter in oven proof skillet.  Sautee onion in butter until slightly browned.  Transfer the onions into a bowl and add the rosemary.  Sear chicken breast in pan, pour the onions on top, cover the pan tightly with foil or a lid and place in 350 degree oven.  Meanwhile, combine the honey and pear juice in a saucepan.  Add arrowroot and stir over medium heat until thickened.  When the chicken is fully cooked (about 15 minutes) pull the pan out of the oven and place the chicken on a serving platter (leave the onions on top).  Everything else in the pan gets added to the honey/pear juice mixture.  Whisk together and spoon sauce over chicken breasts.

The first couple times I made this I took fresh pears and threw them into my juicer.  More recently I’ve done it with purchased pear juice.  It’s only marginally more expensive and a lot less cleaning hassle.  The onion showed up because I love sautéed onion in just about anything (almost every night I cook dinner my first step is to chop up a red onion).  I had been playing with arrowroot as a thickening agent recently and chose it because I wanted the sauce to remain a little more translucent.  I didn’t use a traditional pan sauce method partly because I was still experimenting with arrowroot and wanted to make sure I got it blended well.  Also, since the chicken is cooked mostly in the oven there is very little fond to get out of the bottom of the pan so the whole deglazing step of most pan sauces is pointless.

One Response to “Food I Like: Rosemary Chicken with Honey-Pear Sauce”


  1. 1 Twitted by davincimom

Leave a Reply

