Food I Like: Red Pepper Sauce

15Sep10

A while back I started playing with sauces.  I came up with a rather tasty Honey Pear Sauce good for chicken.  A couple days later I was staring into the fridge again trying to make something to go with the beef roast I had sitting around that wasn’t the usual brown gravy.  I always like roasted red pepper and think it stands up to beef quite well.  This recipe involves roasting the pepper over an open flame.  I’ve done this on my charcoal grill (I’ll cut the pepper into sections to cook it faster) or I’ve just set the whole pepper on the spider grate over my gas stove.  I have not used jarred peppers for it although I imagine it would still work, as well as roasting the peppers in the oven.  Although both would be missing some of the char flavor you get from fresh roasting them which goes so well with beef.

  • 2 whole red bell peppers
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup beef stock
  • 1 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
  • 1-1/2 tsp arrowroot
  • 2 tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese

Roast the red bell pepper over a flame.  When outer skin is blackened put in Tupperware-like container and cover tightly.  Shake to remove skin.  Puree red pepper until smooth.  Sautee garlic in butter.  Add beef stock.  Add black pepper and arrowroot.  Whisk together over medium heat until sauce thickens.  Add pureed red pepper and Parmesan cheese.  Simmer over low heat until heated through.

No Responses Yet to “Food I Like: Red Pepper Sauce”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

